.Sign up to get our FREE email news bulletins.  


Merseyside Newsbites


News Update   on this section are published live, offering you breaking news alerts and other useful information form Merseyside and the wider Liverpool City Region. The news covered on this section include things like:- breaking news, local events, important time sensitive announcements and emergency notices.  For more in-depth news coverage head down to our weekly online newspaper Southport Reporter, or surf through our News Archive, if you want to read an old, backdated news report. Please note that currently the old news archive does not contain reports from this section. This section is updated regularly and is regulated by the Standards Code set down by the UK Press Regulator IMPRESS


News Script PHP Pro 2.4 - Admin
Historic win for Labour in Southport and the nation turns red
By Newsroom
News  |  Fri - July 5, 2024 5:42 am  |  Article Hits:854  |  A+ | a-

'WE did it,' says Starmer as Labour wins the General Election, the results within the Liverpool City Region also reflect the national results. These results also include a history win for Labour, in Southport.

Despite recent boundary changes that could have made it more likely to have gone to the Conservative Party in the past, the constituency has never before had a Labour Member of Parliament until today. 

At the Southport Count Patrick Brian Hurley convincingly won the seat from the Conservative Party's Damian Moore on an unusual election night.

Despite a slight delay due to a recounting at the request of the Green Party, the night went very smoothly and far quicker than planned, with the result being announced at around 3:15 am.



The rest of the results for the Liverpool City Region are as follows:- 

In Bootle (Sefton) Labour's Peter Dowd held the seat, taking 68.7% share of the votes, with Reform UK coming in second with 12.2% of the votes.

Sefton Central is also a Labour Hold with Bill Esterson remaining in place as the areas MP.

Results for the other areas in the Liverpool City Region as as follows:-

In Liverpool, Labour held its 5 seats, with 62.91% of the vote, but Reform UK surprised many by getting 11.53%, Green Party took 10.51%, the Liberal Democrats got 5.16%, but the Conservatives took 4.67%. The other parties made up the rest of the votes.

  • Maria Eagle Holds her Liverpool Garston seat with a majority of 20,104 votes. Turnout was 60.8% of the registered electorate.
  • Wavertree has a Labour Hold with a majority of 16,304, making Paula Barker the MP. Turnout was 56.7% of the registered electorate.
  • Ian Byrne holds the seat for Labour in the West Darby Constituency, with a majority of 20423. The turnout was 54.6%.
  • Riverside was a Labour hold with Kim Johnson taking the seat with 20,039 votes, a majority of 14,793.  turnout was 45.6%
  • Walton was another hold for Labour, with Dan Carden staying as MP, with a majority of 20,245. Turnout was 53.4%.

In the local By-Election in Liverpool, it is worth adding that Clubmoor East was also a Labour Hold with Richard McLean being elected as Councillor, with a turnout of 47.6%  Also in another By-Election, it was again a Labour win, with Declan Henry being elected as Councillor for Fazakerly North, with a majority of 1,340 votes, and a turnout of 56.7%. And the 3rd By-Ellection of the night for Liverpool was for Broadgreen. As with the others, it was a Labour Hold with a majority of just 619%, Making Hayley Anne Todd the duly elected Councillor for that Ward. It's with adding that the LibDems were close behind. Turnout was 59.7%.

Wirral Labour held the 2 seats with 49% of the votes. The Conservative Party took 18%, the Green Party took 14%, Reform UK took 13%, and the Liberal Democrats took 6%.


  • Birkenhead = Labour's Alison Mc Govern.
  • Elsmere Port & Bromborough = Justin Madders - Labour.
  • Wallasey = Dame Angela Egle - Labour.
  • Wirral West = Labour's Mathew Patrick.

Halton was a Labour hold for both Runcorn and Helsby, as well as Widnes and Halewood.

St Helens stays Labour.  Labour's David Edward Baines being elected as the MP for St Helens North. St Helens South and Whiston has Labour's Marie Rimmer duly elected. St Helens Windle Ward, has Labour's Lisa Preston as their MP.

A new MP has been elected in Knowsley to continue Labour's perfect record for this parliamentary seat, which was created in 2010 and has been in the hands of Labour ever since.

This year it was not just parliamentary constituency boundaries in the Liverpool City Region that had changed but 90% of constituencies had been changed since the last election in 2019. This meant it was harder to estimate what the outcome of the final result would have been, but it was clear that Labour would take over from very early on.  Nationally the Labour have now got the overall majority of seats in the House, and have pushed the Conservatives into second place with Lib Dems in third place.

  • Labour won 412 seats, 211 seats gained.
  • Conservative won 121 seats, 250 seats lost.
  • Liberal Democrats won 71 seats, 63 seats gained.
  • Scottish National Party (SNP) won 9 seats, 38 seats lost.
  • Sinn Fein (SF) has 7 seats, No change.
  • Other Parties have won 28. +14.

What are your thoughts?

Play CAPTCHA Audio
Refresh Image
* - Required fields


Please support local businesses like:-



Empire Resyaurant - Southport - Merseyside

This online newspaper and information service is regulated by IMPRESS, the independent monitor for the UK's press.

This online newspaper and information service is regulated by
IMPRESS the independent monitor for the UK's press.

This is our process:-  Complaints Policy - Complaints Procedure - Whistle Blowing Policy

We are a local independent business like you...
Help keep our access to our websites free by advertising your business.

here for more information!

Help us to continue to support the community...

This is a live image that reloads every 30 seconds.

Post Office Ave - Southport - Merseyside - England


Tracking & Cookie Usage Policy - Terms & Conditions

All rights reserved - Copyright © 2013- PBT Media Relations Ltd.  Data Protection Registration number:- ZA091469